Types and Levels of Medical Coding Certifications

Types and Levels of Medical Coding Certifications

There are a number of medical coding certification levels that a career person in the medical coding field can sit for to increase chances of promotion and salary raises.

The Certified Coding Associate (CCA) is an entry-level certification that all new coders required to be employed while the Certified Coding Specialist (CCS) certification shows competency in Current Procedural Terminology (CPT) and International Statistical Classification of Diseases and Related Health Problems (ICD-9-CM) coding systems.

There is also a Physician-based Coding Specialist, Certified Health Data Analyst and Continuing Education and Re-certification for advanced coders.

PS. For a full list of our high in-demand healthcare training programs check out our programs page here. And if you can’t wait another minute to get started on your future call the number in the upper right-hand corner of the website to speak with an admissions specialist today.

Related Articles

Medical Assistant Inspired to Care for Others by Her Own Healthcare Journey

Maripaz graduated from the clinical medical assistant program, inspired to pursue health care as a career from her own experiences.

Read More >
San Diego Campus Wins Contest, Makes $500 Donation to Boys and Girls Club - U.S Colleges

San Diego Campus Wins Contest, Makes $500 Donation to Boys & Girls Club

U.S. Colleges hosted a social media contest and the San Diego campus took first place, winning a $500 donation to the Boys & Girls Club of Greater San Diego.

Read More >
US Colleges EMT Student

Faculty Spotlight: Tony Amparan Wants EMT Students to be the Best Version of Themselves

“Tony is an amazing member of the EMT Program Team here at US Colleges. He takes the position of Instructor to a level beyond.. said EMT Program Director Jack Goodwin.

Read More >